The stages of Syphilis

There are four stages of syphilis infection. An infected person might not exhibit some symptoms at the very early stage and will tend to ignore and forget about it in a few days.

First stage

The first stage of syphilis occurs at least two weeks after an individual contracts the disease. It usually lasts up to three months. At this stage, a patient will develop skin sores called chancres. Chancres can grow on any part of the body, but they are more common in the nether regions such as the scrotum, anus, penis, vagina, and even the mouth. They are not painful and will disappear in about a couple of weeks. This does not mean that you are cured of syphilis.

Second stage

The second stage is known to be the time when syphilis is the most contagious. It is when the infection starts to spread all over the body. The symptoms include fever, skin rashes, hair loss, weight loss, swelling of the lymph nodes, headaches, appetite loss, and muscle and joint pains.

Latent Stage

The latent stage does not really have any visible symptoms. For you to determine if you still have the infection, you have to undergo a blood test for syphilis.

Tertiary stage

The tertiary stage of syphilis is probably one of the worst things that can happen to you. At this point, a patient is destined to carry the disease for at least two more years up to twenty years. The bacteria will attack and damage more organs and systems in the body. It will infect the nervous tissues, heart, skin, arteries, liver, and bones. As a result of these, a patient will have a big chance of suffering from paralysis, mental problems, blindness, heart failure, deafness, and death.

So, to steer clear of all these dangers, get a syphilis test using STD Rapid Test Kits' rapid syphilis test kit now.